MAIA Logo


Search :

 Home |  Advocacy |  Networking |  Professional Development |  Publications |  Products and Services |

MAIA Councils/Task Forces 2013-14
  • AGENCY OPERATIONS COUNCIL
    - Company/Agency Relations Task Force
    - Technical Issues Task Force
    - Technology Task Force
    - Trusted Choice/CAP Task Force

  • LEGISLATIVE/PUBLIC POLICY COUNCIL
    - PAC/Grassroots Task Force

  • NOMINATIONS/ELECTIONS COUNCIL

  • PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT COUNCIL AND CIC/CISR TASK FORCE

  • YOUNG AGENTS COUNCIL


  • AGENCY OPERATIONS COUNCIL

    Facilitates opportunities and provides resources for members to operate at their optimum business potential. Four Task Forces fall under this Committee - Company/Agency Relations, Technical Issues, Technology,  and Trusted Choice/CAP.

    Company/Agency Relations Task Force
    Facilitates communication and addresses issues of concern and works to improve processes between members and the companies they represent to develop and maintain positive, professional relationships with insurer.

    CHAIR:
    Tom Stuit, LIC, CPA
    Berends Hendricks Stuit Insurance, Grandville
    616-531-1900
    tstuit@bhsins.com
    Ryan Parkinson
    Hale Insurance Agency, Hale
    ryan@haleinsurance.net
    COMMITTEE MEMBERS:
    Jason DeKuiper, CIC
    The White Agency Inc., Fremont
    jdekuiper@whiteagency.com
    Al Rant, CIC
    White Lake Agency, Montague
    arant@whitelakeagency.com
    Mike Haverdink, CPA, LIC
    Ottawa Kent Insurance Agency, Jenison
    mikeh@okins.com
    BOARD LIAISON:
    John Sorenson, LUTCF, AAI
    Red Arrow Insurance Agy Inc., St. Joseph
    Rai49085@aol.com
    George Henry, JD, CLU, ChFC, CPCU
    Consolidated Agencies Inc., Sterling Heights
    ghenry@consolidatedagencies.com

    STAFF LIAISON:
    Bev Barney, CIC, CPCU
    MAIA, Lansing
    bbarney@michagent.org

    Tom Messner
    America One Inc., Okemos
    americaoneinsurance@gmail.com



    Technical Issues Task Force

    Provides information and guidance on insurance policy coverages, terminology, and interpretations, and other technical issues, and researches and responds to member questions regarding such. Oversees Association’s insurance coverage.

    CHAIR (INSURANCE CHAIR):
    Bob Worgess, CIC
    Worgess Agency, Inc., Battle Creek
    269-965-3221
    bob@worgess.com
    John Olson
    General Agency Co., Mt. Pleasant
    jolson@ga-ins.com
    COMMITTEE MEMBERS:
    Doug Fairbanks, CIC AAI
    Hartland Insurance Agency, Inc., Hartland
    dfairbanks@hartlandinsurance.com

    BOARD LIAISON:
    Jerry Domitrovich
    Domitrovich Insurance Agency,
    Ontonagon
    jddomit@jamadots.com

    Melanie Klebba
    Klebba Agency Inc., Wixom
    mklebba@klebbaagency.com
    STAFF LIAISON: Technical Issues
    Kari Quimby, CIC
    MAIA, Lansing
    kquimby@michagent.org
    Richard Pease, TQA
    Pease Insurance Agency, Howard City
    richp@peaseinsurance.com
    STAFF LIAISON: Insurance
    Katherine Godbold
    MAIA, Lansing
    kgodbold@michagent.org


    Technology Task Force

    Resource for providing leadership on all agency automation issues.


    CHAIR:
    Cindy Green Johnson
    VAST, Marquette
    906-228-7500
    clg@hetrickins.com
    Emily Wilmont, PHR
    User Group Representative
    Korthase Flinn Ins & Financial Services, Boyne City
    ewilmot@korthaseflinn.com
    COMMITTEE MEMBERS:
    Denise Cox, CPCU, ARM
    Donald K. Pierce & Co, Grosse Pointe
    dcox@pierce-company.com
    BOARD LIAISON:
    Linda Fisher, AAI, CIC, LUTCF, LIC
    Cardinal Insurance Group, Traverse City
    lmf@cardinalinsgroup.com
    Mindy Thomas
    User Group Representative
    Hacker King Sherry Agency, East Lansing
    mthomas@hksagency.com
    STAFF LIAISONS:
    Mary Gardner
    MAIA, Lansing
    mgardner@michagent.org
    Venus Tondreau, CISR
    User Group Representative
    Ford Insurance Agency Inc., Traverse City
    vtondreau@fordinsurance.net
     


    Trusted Choice/CAP Task Force
    Charged to develop and implement a plan for committee action that will encompass external delivery of MAIA public policy positions and advertising and public relations to promote the value of independent agents and differentiate independent agents from other distribution channels and companies.


    CHAIR:
    Ed LeBuda, CIC
    MCI, Inc., Bay City
    989-892-5541
    ed@mciinsurance.com
    Rob Umstead, CPCU
    Steenland Insurance Agency, Inc., Grand Rapids
    Rob@steenland.com
    COMMITTEE MEMBERS:
    Holly Rossell, AAI
    Action Insurance Service Inc., Utica
    hrossell@actionin.com

    BOARD LIAISON:
    Doug Fairbanks, CIC, AAI
    Hartland Insurance Agency, Inc., Hartland
    dfairbanks@hartlandinsurance.com

    Dale Simmon, CIC, LUTCF
    Simmon Insurance Agency Inc., Lansing
    dsimmon@simmoninsurance.com
    STAFF LIAISON:
    Bev Barney, CIC, CPCU
    MAIA, Lansing
    bbarney@michagent.org


    Back to the top.


    LEGISLATIVE/PUBLIC POLICY COUNCIL AND STATE/NATIONAL PAC TASK FORCE

    Proactively engage in issue advocacy and evaluation, including where appropriate developing, introducing, and supporting legislative/regulatory initiatives impacting members and consumers, and communication of that information to various publics.

    PAC/Grassroots Task Force
    Responsible for meeting fundraising goals established for AgentPAC and InsurPAC and overseeing disbursements as well as maximizing MAIA’s full grassroots potential.


    CHAIR & BOARD LIAISON:
    Pam Barkel, CISR, CIC, AAI, AINS
    Hartland Insurance Agency Inc.,
    Hartland
    810-632-5161
    pambarkel@hartlandinsurance.com
    Lisa Lemanski
    Meiers & Lombardini Ins Services,
    East Lansing
    lisa@mllins.com
    COMMITTEE MEMBERS:
    Harry Awdey
    Duncan Insurance, Armada
    hawdey@aalins.com
    Tim Roodvoets
    The Lapeer Agency, Inc., Lapeer
    tim@lapeeragency.com
    Mike Clark
    Hillsdale Agency Inc, Hillsdale
    hillsdaleagency@sbcglobal.net
    Don Shampine, CIC, CRM
    Michigan Insurance Group, Muskegon
    das@michiganrisk.com
    Terri Hartwick, AAI
    Hartland Insurance Agency Inc., Hartland
    terrihartwick@hartlandinsurance.com
    Susan Tobbe, CIC, CRM
    Neace Lukens, Southfield
    Susan.tobbe@neacelukens.com

      STAFF LIAISON:
    Scott Hummel
    MAIA, Lansing
    shummel@michagent.org

    Back to the top.  



    NOMINATIONS/ELECTIONS COUNCIL

    Responsible for identifying and qualifying candidates for Board/Executive Committee elections and administering such elections. This committee considers the competencies needed to fill vacancies on the Board of Directors, and seeks out and nominates those candidates with the requisite skills who are willing to serve.

    CHAIR & BOARD LIAISON:
    Greg Rummel, CIC ARM, CPCU
    Emil Rummel Agency Inc, Frankenmuth
    989-652-6104
    gregrummel@rummelinsurance.com
    Mike McBride
    Mason-McBride, Inc., Troy
    mmcbride@masonmcbride.com
    COMMITTEE MEMBER:
    LeRoy Bostic, CPCU, LIC
    Lewis & Thompson Agency, Inc., Detroit
    leroyb@lewis-thompson.com
    STAFF LIAISON:
    Mary Gardner
    MAIA, Lansing
    mgardner@michagent.org


    Back to the top.


    PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT COUNCIL AND CIC/CISR TASK FORCE

    Advance the professional knowledge and expertise of insurance agencies and their employees through the development and presentation of educational programs, articles, and publications, and dissemination of information regarding educational opportunities. The CIC/CISR Task Force falls under this Committee.

    CIC/CISR Task Force
    Working in conjunction with the CIC Education Consultant and Society of CIC to monitor the quality of speakers, facilities, and exams for the CIC and CISR programs.


    COUNCIL CHAIR:
    Bonnie Hayward, CIC, AAI, CISR CPIW
    General Agency, Mt. Pleasant
    989-773-6981
    bhayward@ga-ins.com
    Alice Kring, CISR CIC
    Redbud Insurance Services LLC, Buchanan
    alice@redbudinsurance.com
    TASK FORCE CHAIR & MAIA BOARD LIAISON TO COUNCIL & TASK FORCE:
    Christine Hansens, CIC, CISR
    Holt & Dimondale Agency, Inc, Holt
    chris@holtdimondaleagency.com
    Jeff Magowan, CIC
    Garceau Wenick-Kutz Magowan
    Insurance Agency, Escanaba
    jam@garceauins.com

    COMMITTEE MEMBERS:
    Sharon Bieser, CIC, CISR
    Community Insurance Center Ltd, Metamora
    sbieser@cicinsctr.com
    ED CONSULTANT – CIC/CISR:
    Carol Breed, JD CIC CPCU
    Olivet College, Olivet
    cbreed@olivetcollege.edu
    Ron Devers, CIC
    PSI Insurance Agency, LLC, Lansing
    rdevers@psiinsurance.net

    STAFF LIAISON:
    Mary Gardner
    MAIA, Lansing
    mgardner@michagent.org

    Jeff Jardine, CIC, AAI
    Mason McBride Inc, Troy
    jjardine@masonmcbride.com
     


    Back to the top.


    YOUNG AGENTS COUNCIL

    Create an environment in which young insurance professionals can foster relationships and professionalism that result in successful career paths for young agents and growth for their agencies.

    CHAIR:
    Anthony DiPilla
    Morris Insurance Group, Rochester
    248-651-7585
    anthony@morrisinsurancegroup.com
    Erinn Swan
    City Insurance Agency Inc., Marquette
    eswan@cityins.com
    VICE CHAIR:
    Erich Ehlert
    Troy Metro Agency. Troy
    erich@troymetro.com
    Kira Wolf
    Brownrigg Companies Ltd, Detroit
    kwolf@brownrigg.com
    COUNCIL MEMBERS:
    Matt Britton, CIC CISR LIC CAWC
    Korthase Flinn Insurance & Financial Services, Boyne City
    mbritton@korthaseflinn.com
    PAST CHAIR:
    Will Lemanski, AIC API AAI
    Meiers & Lombardini Insurance Services, East Lansing
    will@mllins.com
    Kelly Casey
    Duclos Insurance Agency, Saginaw
    kcasey@duclosagency.com
    BOARD LIAISON:
    Linda Fisher, AAI, CIC, LUTCF, LIC
    Cardinal Insurance Group, Traverse City
    lmf@cardinalinsgroup.com
    Adam Jackson
    Ron Jackson Insurance Agency Inc., Kalamazoo
    ajackson@ronjacksonins.com
     
    STAFF LIAISON & SUPPORT:
    Rita LaMoreaux
    MAIA, Lansing
    rlamoreaux@michagent.org
    Zach Phillips
    W. J. Phillips Agency Inc., Flint
    zach@wjphillips.com

    STAFF SUPPORT: 
    Jennifer Burnett
    MAIA, Lansing
    jburnett@michagent.org
    Casey Russell
    Combined Insurance Agencies Inc., St. Joseph
    casey@ciainsurancemi.com
     
     
    Back to the top.
     Contact Us |  Membership Information |  Website Terms of Use Agreement |  Site Map |